Kids birthday parties

Between the 20 or so kids that I have nannied for, and my own son, I have attended more than my fair share of kid parties. And most of the time I love them. I love the sound of those happy little people running around like crazy drunk people. But my understanding is that there is an underlined pact between Mom’s about the etiquette surrounding these types of events.

Just recently I was at a birthday party for a little person that is very special to me. It was great to see him enjoying time with his friends. Watching all the kids scream their heads off and be maniacs, it was a delight. Well, okay, I was hung over like nobodies business, but wouldn’t have missed it for the world. Now, I stuck around with my son, because there was no designation on the invitation that this was a drop off party. But a few parents took liberties and decided to drop off their kids, without letting the host parents know that they weren’t sticking around. Are you having the same thoughts that I am, what the pickles? We were in a large facility that had a number of events going on, with several large groups moving around that facility. With no one aware that there were kids unaccompanied by an adult, whom someone needed to be looking out for, anything could have gone wrong. Kids could have ended up with the wrong group, or lost in the facility, or worse. Miraculously, everyone ended up in the party room as planned. But when the party was over, there were kids who hadn’t been picked up, and no parents were in sight. The host parents were left scratching their heads. They don’t know these kids personally, or really even their parents. It all worked out, but again, I’m baffled. What if the kids got hurt, or had a special diet that they couldn’t eat certain things, OR THEY GOT LOST? I think the rule of thumb should be that if it doesn’t specifically say that it’s a drop off party, Mom or Dad should stick around. As a parent, myself, I don’t think it’s fair to add the stress and responsibility of my child onto the host parent. They already have enough on their plate, they’re hosting a party! I thought all this was understood, clearly I was wrong.

Here is my other issue surrounding kids birthday parties. People, I swear to goodness gracious, please do not buy a gift for another child that has more pieces than the kid has hairs on their head, or that makes more noise than the kid does. Honestly, I am baffled by the fact that one Mom would choose to send a toy like that to someone else’s house. It just feels mean. Who wants gifts that ends up clogging the vacuum cleaner, or that you step on in the middle of the night on your way to the frig for a spoonful of ice cream. I certainly don’t, and I wouldn’t wish that on anyone else. And we’ve all that had experience right, were you’re watching tv and all the sudden that crazy loud singing teddy bear starts randomly going off cause the batteries are dying. Scares the crap out of me every time. Again, wouldn’t send that to my worst enemies house, you just don’t do it.

I think what I want to get across is that really, we all just need to apply some common sense when it comes to the kids parties. Unless the invitation says drop off, stay and monitor your kids activities. And be kind when choosing gifts that will end up in someone else’s home. Cause otherwise, you know what I say…

What the pickles!?!

Leave a Reply

