Mental Health Day

I have planned a mental health day for myself, but I’m having such a hard time deciding what to do with all the free time I’ve carved out. Don’t know what a mental health day is? It is a whole day, or in my case 6.5 hours, completely renewing, re-energizing and caring for yourself, and doing nothing for anyone else. Yup, that’s right nothing for anybody else. Well, that’s what I’m striving for, but you know the drill. As a Mom, nanny, daughter, sister, girlfriend, employee, head of household, volunteer…at times it can be easier said than done.

So, here I am, 3 days away from MY day, and I have no idea what to do. Do I meet a friend for coffee/lunch, do I head to the spa for a massage, do I walk the trail and then head in for a mani/pedi? What do I do? I spend so much of my time thinking about others, and their needs, that when it comes time for me to focus on myself I have no idea what to do. Imagine what you would do if you have no laundry to do, no kids to pick up, not errands to run, nothing to do. Would you sit paralyzed on your couch staring around? So much of my time is spent in the service of others, I’m not sure I can figure out what to do otherwise. With no questions to answer, demands to meet, noses to wipe, I may go stir crazy…wait! This is exactly why I need the mental health day to begin with. Completing all those tasks every day, over and over and over again makes me feel a bit on edge, but not doing them could produce the same feeling. What does that say about me? I am I doomed to be driven mad no matter what? I don’t believe so, really. I love the craziness that comes along with raising three boys, managing two households, being a student, a social entrepreneur, a marketing assistant, and just being crazy old me, is truly what makes life exciting and worth living. This time is more about appreciating the craziness and recover from it.

What I am realizing is life is short, it’s full, and sometimes I need a break from it all. My mental health day doesn’t need to be about doing something, that actually defeats the whole purpose of the day. My mental health day needs to be about taking a little time to reset myself and take stock of the world I choose to surround myself with. Hopefully by doing so I can continue to do all the things that I do, and do them well. Without a mental health day every now and again, you will definitely hear me screaming, “What the pickles!”

Do you take a mental health day?

Side note:

My son ended up getting sick, so my planned mental health day turned into a day of doctor visits and caring for my little man. There really is no rest for the weary.

Leave a Reply

